Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Chase allows you to manage workflows by setting up substitute workflow users, reassigning or cancelling workflows. 

Find out how to:

Step-by-step guide


Setting up a Workflow Substitute

A workflow substitute is a User who will receive a workflow notification if the required person is not available. The substitute User and date range will then need to be set up so that the workflow is re-directed to the substitute User for the duration of the date range. This functionality is useful when you know beforehand that someone is going to be unavailable for a certain period of time (eg. annual leave, parental leave).


  1. Navigate to Settings, click the Resources item to expand it, and select Users.



    The Users screen appears with a list of all users.

  2. On the Users screen, click the Advanced Edit button next to the User whose workflows are to be actioned by someone else.




  3. On the User Details dialog, click on the WF Substitution User field, and select an alternative User who will action the workflow.

    The substitute User will receive a workflow notification for any new workflow, and is required to act on it.

  4. Click the WF Substitute Date picker and select the date on which the substitute User will start receiving workflow notifications.

  5. Click the OK button.




Reassigning a Workflow

When you set up Workflows, you select specific users (participants) who will be required to take action once the Workflow has been initiated. The purpose of the Reassign Workflow Wizard is to allow you to set up a substitute for the default participant in the event that they are unavailable. This is useful if you did not set up a substitute and the person is already unavailable (eg. sick leave, family responsibility leave). 

  1. Click the Wizards button.




  2. The Select a Chase Wizard to begin dialog appears. Click the Reassign Workflow wizard.




  3. On the Workflow reassignment Wizard dialog, click on the User with Workflows that should be reassigned field, and select the appropriate user.

  4. Click on the User to Assign selected Workflows to field and select the appropriate user.

  5. Click the Next button.



  6. A list of all workflows appear. Check the checkbox next to the workflow that needs to be reassigned, or select all workflows by checking the checkbox next to the Applies to column. 

  7. Once satisfied with your selection, click the Next button.



  8. Click the Finish button to apply the changes.



  9. Click the Close button to complete the process. 

    A green check mark next to a line means that the process was successful.

    A red X mark next to a line means that the process was unsuccessful. If you hover over the X mark you will be able to view details about the issue.







Cancelling a Workflow

There are two steps to cancelling a workflow:

  1. Setup the correct user right to use the wizard
  2. Use the Cancel Workflow Wizard

Over time, you might end up with a number of unnecessary workflows in progress, due to setup issues or staff turnover. In these cases, it might be necessary to cancel these workflows in bulk. The Cancel Workflow Wizard will need to be set up so that the appropriate user will be able to run this wizard.



Setting up the correct User Right

  1. Navigate to Settings, click the Access Rights group to expand it, and select Forms.

  2. Search for Wizards - Cancel Workflow, and ensure that the Can View column is set to the desired user right. 

    It is recommended that the user right selected should be that of the User who sets up the workflows for your company. In most cases, the Administrator will be the one configuring workflows.

  3. Save changes made to the screen.



Using the Cancel Workflow Wizard

  1. Click the Wizards button on the ribbon.



  2. The Select a Chase Wizard to begin dialog appears. Click the Cancel WorkFlow wizard.




  3. Click on the User with Workflows that should be cancelled field, and select the user for whom you want to cancel workflows.

  4. Click the Next button.



  5. Select the checkbox next to the specific workflow(s) to be cancelled and click the Next button.

    Select the checkbox next to the Applies to column to cancel all workflows for a user.




  6. Click the Finish button.


  7. Click the Close button to close the wizard, or click the Restart button to begin the cancellation process again.

    A green check mark next to a line means that the process was successful.

    A red X mark next to a line means that the process was unsuccessful. If you hover over the X mark you will be able to view details about the issue.







  • No labels